Welcome to Church of the Ascension

Meet Our Team

Our church staff members work to equip and inspire people to follow Jesus Christ, grow in their faith, connect in community, and share God's great love to the world.

Interim Rector

Rev. Leo Crawford

Interim Associate Rector

Rev. Dr. Randall K. Hehr

Interim Associate Rector

Rev. Dr. Doris Buchanan Johnson


Rev. Linda Barley


Rev. Sandy Jamieson

Clergy Assistant

Rev. Dr. Bill Shiflet


Brian McCracken

Music Director

Dr. Matthew Estes

Parish Life & Small Groups

Alyce Goldsmith

Technology Ministry Support

Seth Hunnicutt

& Clay Farrar

Assistant Youth & Outreach Minister

Susan Katte

Financial Secretary, Membership & Outreach Support

Marcia Nauman

Day School Director & Assistant Youth Minister

Pam Rilling

Secretary & Visitor/Member Liaison

Maggie Talbot


The vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. Vestry members are elected annually.

  • James McArthur, Senior Warden 
  • Kyle Jones, Junior Warden
  • Jeff Jennings, Treasurer
  • Marte Toohill, Clerk
  • Kathy Biddle
  • Kelly Corcoran
  • David W. Howell
  • Clark Lea, Jr.
  • Margaret Metz
  • Rachael Moore​
  • Karla Myers
  • Sam Pilato
  • Carey Rowan
  • Jodi Sibson